The European Commission agreed with five countries on the import of Ukrainian agricultural products

The EC will also allocate 100 million euros in assistance to affected farmers in five EU member states.

The European Commission has agreed with Poland, Hungary, Slovakia, Romania and Bulgaria to lift the ban on imports of agricultural products from Ukraine.

Deputy Head of the European Commission Valdis Dombrovskis informedthat the European Commission was able to agree on the lifting of national import restrictions by these five Eastern European countries.

Also, the European Commission introduces exceptional precautionary measures for four types of agricultural products – wheat, corn, rapeseed and sunflower and allocates a support package of 100 million euros for affected farmers.

According to a media source in the European Commission, “exceptional precautionary measures” means the introduction of quotas for the import of Ukrainian grain.

Problems with the export of Ukrainian grain – details

Poland, Hungary, Romania, Slovakia introduced a ban on the import and transit of grain and other food from Ukraine.

The European Commission called the unilateral decision of countries to ban the import of goods unacceptable. Later, as a result of negotiations, the European Commission agreed on a ban on the import of wheat, corn, rapeseed and sunflower from Ukraine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *